TO REPORT AN URGENT INCIDENT TO UBER, CALL 1-800-354-6012. In a recent Reddi...READ MORE
Tell us about your case and our attorneys will contact you promptly
Published on Jun 30, 2022 at 5:26 pm in Rideshare Accidents.
Rideshare companies such as Uber and Lyft provide people with on demand, and they offer individuals a convenient and cashless way to get from place to place. Rideshare drivers can be just as likely to cause or have involvement in an automobile accident as any other driver, so any person who suffers injuries in such a crash will want to be quick to contact a California rideshare accident lawyer.
Before scheduling an Uber or Lyft ride, you will want to know whether an Uber or Lyft driver has personal car insurance. Rideshare injury cases can be much more complicated than your traditional car accident claim.
People can suffer various kinds of injuries in rideshare accidents that may include, but are not limited to:
Injuries in a rideshare accident do not mean that Uber or Lyft automatically covers the damages. Both companies do offer additional protection in some cases when a driver’s insurance proves to be inadequate for covering the bills a victim is facing.
Uber or Lyft may cover up to $100,000 in bodily injury per accident (or a maximum of $50,000 per person) and $25,000 for property damage. When a rideshare driver causes injuries while picking up passengers or during a ride, Uber or Lyft can provide up to $1 million in liability coverage.
People who sustain injuries when a rideshare driver was not using the Uber or Lyft app at the time of the accident will only be able to file a claim with that driver’s personal car insurance company. If another driver is at fault for a rideshare accident, then the other driver becomes liable for paying all damages.
Uber and Lyft may provide additional coverage when a rider suffers injuries in a hit and run accident or the other driver is uninsured or underinsured.
Many people assume they can sue Uber, Lyft, or other rideshare companies directly after rideshare accidents, but it is not always possible to do this because most rideshare companies classify their drivers as independent contractors specifically to avoid this type of liability. There may be cases in which it is possible to sue the rideshare company, but you are going to need to act quickly in these cases to satisfy the California statute of limitations for personal injury actions, which is two years from the date of an accident or injury.
Rideshare companies really do not want to spend the money needed to take cases to trial, so chances are good that the rideshare company will be seeking a settlement to resolve your case instead. Do not try to settle your case on your own because many people who do this end up receiving much less than they need, so let an attorney negotiate your settlement for you.
Another possible catch with a lawsuit against a rideshare company could be the possibility that you might have terms of service indicating that your claim needs to be resolved through arbitration. Arbitration operates somewhat similar to a court process but has some major differences, and the final decision could be binding, meaning that you cannot appeal the decision.
There could be exceptions to the arbitration clause for instances involving sexual assault by a driver or certain other claims that you file in a small claims court. Make sure to get legal representation for assistance handling any kind of arbitration issue.
You do not want to be handling your rideshare accident claim on your own. RideApp Law Group has attorneys who practice all over the country and understand different rideshare insurance policies as well as the practices they commonly use when offering accident victims settlements.
You deserve the money necessary to cover every expense you are facing after a rideshare accident. Call us at (888) CRASH08 or contact us online to get an entirely free evaluation of your case and let us detail what actions you can take.